Instagram now tells your friends when you were last active

Adjust Comment Print

The feature can only enable the list of friends followed by a person and those who receive direct messages to see last seen status.

Luckily, it doesn't tell everyone when you were last on Instagram but only the people with whom you share private messages, or those you tag in your Instagram Stories.

Business Insider UK reports that a new Instagram feature allows friends to know when you were last online - not unlike Facebook Messenger.

Like Facebook Messenger, it will show how many minutes or hours ago you were active on the app.

It's worth noting that once you turn off your own activity status you won't be able to see anyone else's either, but this seems like a fair trade off to us.

New NBA All-Star Game format provides intrigue
From there, the rest of the two rosters will be filled out by the 14 reserves yet to be named, seven each from the East and West. The captains will be the All-Star starter from each conference who receives the most fan votes in his conference.


In the Instagram app go to your profile page, tap on the cog symbol next to the "edit profile" button, and scroll down to the three toggles, one of these is for Show activity status, just slide it across to turn it off - you can also turn off vibrations for notifications here too.

Instagram now lets users see when their friends last checked the app on their mobile device. Instagram, however, did not have such feature up until now.

Open Instagram and click your picture in the bottom right to bring up your profile. With Instagram now owned by Facebook, it's no surprise they are taking tips from their older sibling. The new Activity Status feature is a part of the Direct section. If they are looking at a profile of someone who follows them but they don't follow, the profile will show "follow back" option instead of just 'follow'. This feature is still in closed testing mode and might be available to all the users in coming months.

The app was last updated on January 16, but the recent feature showed up on Thursday. Instagram made no official announcement in this regard and this option was not among the most highly-requested features for the platform, yet it's the new default.

Comments