Colin Munro becomes fourth batsman to hit two T20I hundreds

Adjust Comment Print

Debutant Mohammed Siraj (1-53) had a tough outing for India with the ball but Jasprit Bumrah (0-23) continued to impress. Munro also hit his 2nd T20I ton.

The opening pair put up a commanding display making the most of the power-play options and though the home team removed skipper Kane Williamson cheaply in the 15th over, with the right hander having a go at Siraj and offering a straight forward catch to Rohit Sharma at deep forward of square leg, Munro demonstrated the fearless and flamboyant trait to bat right through the innings.

Munro raced to his half-century in just 26 balls, bringing up the landmark with a six off Axar Patel over long on. He became only the third batsman to hit two T20i centuries.

After India's 40-run defeat, Kohli applauded the visitors for their impressive win. "The ball got scuffed up [to help it turn]". In the end, Boult's first over might very well have extinguished India's hopes. Now gets Sharma and the BLACKCAPS have both openers.

Fast bowler Mohammed Siraj handed his maiden worldwide cap by coach Ravi Shastri. Ashish Nehra obviously not part of the side now, Mohammad Siraj comes in.

Given the new ball responsibility by Kohli, the 23-year-old pacer was given the coldest of welcomes to global cricket by Martin Guptill who took two boundaries off his very first over.

StarCraft II Is Going Free to Play
Those with a desire for competition can unlock the ranked ladder for free simply by playing and winning games. Ranked multiplayer is unlocked by getting 10 First Wins of the Day in Unranked or Versus A.I. play.

Talking about the Indian playing XI, the Men in Blue have chose to make just one change.

Later, captain Williamson became the victim of the debutant and his Sunrisers Hyderabad teammate Mohammed Siraj to give the fast bowler his first global wicket.

Opening the bowling for India along with Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Siraj's very first over in global cricket saw him concede 10 runs, including two boundaries.

New Zealand (Playing XI): Martin Guptill, Colin Munro, Kane Williamson (c), Tom Bruce, Glenn Phillips (w), Henry Nicholls, Colin de Grandhomme, Mitchell Santner, Adam Milne, Ish Sodhi, Trent Boult.

While Chahal improved as the game wore on, Patel only got worse and so expensive had been India's spinners that Kohli elected not to bowl them out.

2 - Virat Kohli is now the second highest run-getter in T20Is.