WhatsApp reportedly set to roll out a delete message feature

Adjust Comment Print

"This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake". WhatsApp is giving users a window of seven minutes to revoke a sent message. Alongside the feature, Delete for Everyone, users are also likely to see the Delete for Me option, if they only wish to erase the message from their phone. The feature will be active both in single as well as group chats, for all kinds of messages (text, image, GIFs, etc.).

"Delete for Me", as its name suggests, will see a wiped message removed from your history but continue to remain in the recipient's chat.

In short message recall lets you remove a message from a conversation you sent earlier. WABetainfo now reports that the new feature, named "Delete for Everyone", has begun taking off to a few clients on Android, iPhone, and Windows Phone applications.

You only have seven minutes to recall a message after you've sent it.

You won't get a notification of whether or not deletion was successful for everyone. Yesterday, we see WhatsApp beta v2.17.397 was rolled out with new emojis, facial expressions and more features.

Longtime Suffolk DA Resigns After Federal Indictment
Spota and McPartland pleaded not guilty at their arraignments Wednesday on charges they conspired to protect Burke. The indictments come nine weeks before Spota, 76, had planned to retire from his position as district attorney.


While it's unknown when the new feature will be available for United Kingdom users, it has begun to roll out to people in the USA, according to tech site TechCrunch. With this latest update, you'll now have the option to delete a message either just for yourself or for you and the person it was sent to.

Most people participate in multiple groups on WhatsApp. Some of these messages are sometimes sent in error to wrong recipient, which always causes embarrassment.

Message deleted on the sender's end (left) and recipient's end (right). In order to work, this feature requires that both sender and receiver must have the latest update of the application. However, messages inside a quoted message don't get deleted.

However, people can still take a screenshot of your shameful messages, so we'd still advise being cautious before hitting the send button. This means that you can't be sure if the message was indeed deleted from the device or not.

Comments